Concealer 101: Part 2

Yes, I’m back with part 2 of Concealer 101. This time I’ll be discussing my tips and tricks when using concealer. So, let’s get going!

Did you know your concealer can do more than just, well, conceal? Buy a concealer lighter than your skin and you’ve got a perfect highlight! Ideal for highlighting under your eyes, forehead, nose and chin. Granted, it may be more difficult for us paler people to find a lighter concealer, but that’s where illuminating powders come in.

When I first began experimenting with makeup, I found that when I would blend in my concealer, I ended up rubbing it all away. Then I found that using my ring fingers to blend it in (or a beauty blender used to apply my foundation) blended my concealer beautifully, as the ring finger is the lightest to the touch.

When covering under-eye circles, apply your concealer on your orbital bone (the bone underneath your eye) as applying it directly onto the bag can cause your eyes to look even puffier and tired!

As mentioned before, concealer can be used in so many different ways other than to conceal. One of them is to prime. Obviously, nothing beats your standard face primer. But if you don’t have an eye primer on hand, use your concealer to conceal any discolouration on your eyelids and to make your eyeshadows last longer. Be sure to set with powder though, as concealer is more prone to creasing than primer. I found that the Natural Collection Concealer (£1.99 from Boots) hasn’t got great concealing properties, but it primes my eyes very well!

image

I know these tips/tricks may seem basic, but sometimes people forget concealer can be super versatile. That can be great when travelling as you may only need 1 or 2 concealers instead of packing an entire contour, highlight or concealer palette.

As always, thanks for checking in with me. It’s kind of become routine for me to upload on a Friday so I’ll try and keep that going as maybe one of my New Year’s Resolutions? (is it too late to set resolutions now?)

Until next time,

Lauren
xo

Leave a Reply

