What to do when you’re single on Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day. A day of love, secret admirers and usually pretty normal if you’re single like me.

Well, to all my single ladies/guys out there DO NOT FEAR. I’ve got some tips on how to overcome potential loneliness and how to survive those awkward third-wheel problems – whether it be Valentine’s Day or not.

Being single can be disheartening. Trust me I know all too well what single life is like. When most of your friends are in relationships and you’re sitting there like a lemon, feeling lonely and wondering where all your secret admirers are.

But being single can be great too. You’re independent, free, no pressures and no awkward conversations between your bf/gf and your parents.

I’ve actually learned a lot from being single while my friends are in relationships. Often a situation will arise where they’ll come to me for advice and since I have virtually no experience in the dating/relationship game, I learn a lot about how different things can cause conflict and how to resolve it.

Nevertheless I find myself swimming in a pool of my own misery whenever Valentine’s Day comes around. *sigh* another year of being single.

But here’s how I’m going to get through it;
1. I’m an independent woman who don’t need no man
2. Who says I can’t watch tons of cute movies by myself?
3. Romantic dinner? McDonald’s sounds fab
4. Ugh, I haven’t chosen an outfit for tonight.. these sweatpants will do fine
5. Hm, which shade of red lipstick should I wear? Well I got all day AND night to decide
6. Who needs a date to have a great time???

Ok guys, in all seriousness it doesn’t matter if you’re single or in a relationship. To all my single ladies/men out there; you do you! Valentine’s Day is just another day. If it doesn’t matter to you, awesome! If you’re waiting for the one, they’ll come when the time is right.

image

P.S. Go ahead and buy all the chocolate you want because the best thing about being single is that you don’t have to share with anyone.

Until next time,
Lauren
xo

Leave a Reply

