How to control oily skin

Hi guys! It’s that time of the week again. This week I’ll be sharing my advice on how to control oily skin.

I have combination-oily skin which gets dry (especially in winter). When my skin gets oily, it gets really oily and sometimes it’s hard to control. So today I’ll be sharing my tips for controlling oily skin:

  • Know your skin type

It’s easy to think you have an oily skin type when you experience oily skin. But the truth is everyone can experience it. Don’t dedicate your skincare/ makeup products to combatting oily skin if you’re not 100% sure that is your skin type. This brings me to my next point;

  • Don’t overdo it with the ‘oil control’ skincare products

By using all ‘oil control’ skincare products in your routine, you can dry out your skin which can cause it to produce even more oil and grease as a result. My suggestion: use an oil control scrub OR wash. Using both could prove to be too much for your skin. Along with your scrub/wash use an oil control toner as toners are less active than a scrub/wash. Then I’d suggest using a light yet hydrating moisturiser – a light moisturiser wouldn’t clog your pores but it would provided hydration.

  • MOISTURISE MOISTURISE MOISTURISE

A common myth is that people with oily skin shouldn’t moisturise because it would make the skin even greasier. Wrong. Having dehydrated skin can cause excess oil to be produced. So to balance it out, make sure you moisturise every morning and night.

  • Drink plenty of water

Water is not only an essential part of our survival, but it also does amazing things for your skin. Being dehydrated could cause your skin to be dehydrated possibly causing acne/blemishes, dry flakey skin and could be making your skin look dull. To fix this, drink about 2 litres of water a day. You can add lemon to detox too!

  • Use your active ingredients at night

Some of your skincare products will have more active ingredients (does more to the skin) than others. Things like night creams (which are heavier and thicker) which specifically say to be used at night will provide deeper hydration for your skin. Using your active ingredients at night will ensure any oils produced as a result will not interrupt your day and will allow them to work without any makeup or dirt interfering. 
Now after sharing those tips with you, I thought it would be helpful to share my skincare routine with you all.

It’s very basic as I am in the process of improving it and being a student, I don’t have the time or money to spend too much on skincare.

Mornings

  1. Simple Clear Skin Oil Balancing Exfoliating Wash This is by ‘oil control’ product of choice. I’d been using an exfoliator scrub but it ran out and I found that my skin needed a break. Instead of a scrub I use an exfoliating brush which works just as well and I highly suggest you invest in one
  2. Garnier Fresh Refining Toner for Combination to Oily Skin I’ve always loved Garnier’s toners and this one is no exception. It includes green tea extracts which is amazing for your skin. It tightens and minimises pores which helps makeup look even better    
  3. Avon Care Light Moisture Gel Cream This moisturiser is lightweight and does what a moisturiser should do. It’s consistency is interesting as it is a gel but works like a cream. It also soaks in really fast which is great for when you’re in a rush

Night

  1. Neutrogena Grapefruit Wash This has been a favourite of mine for ages. It always makes my skin feel so refreshed. Plus it’s a really pretty colour
  2. Avon Care Light Moisture Gel Cream As I said earlier my skincare regime is in the works so I’m using this moisturiser for day and night   

That’s all for today. If you have any questions leave them below.

Until next time,

Lauren

xo

Leave a Reply

