MAKEUP REVIEW | Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation

Hi guys, today I have a review on the Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation by Rimmel.

The claims made by Rimmel about this foundation and the over hype it has gotten over the past few months eventually persuaded me to get my hands on it (when I finally managed to get my shade). 

  

  • 7 shades available 
  • 1fl oz/30ml
  • £7.99

What does it claim to do?

Let’s take a look at the bottle;

  • Lasts 25 hours
  • Has comfort serum
  • SPF 20
  • Skin perfecting full coverage foundation

Now let’s look at the website;

  
So overall it’s claiming that it will give us full coverage, beat sweat and oil to last 25 hours and it’s transfer proof. It will also blend flawlessly into the skin. Let’s see how it does.

Coverage

What drew me to this foundation was that it wash ‘full coverage’. I love full coverage foundations and I had quite high expectations for this one considering all the hype it has.

  
As you can see from this awful picture (I need to up my game seriously) it covered blemishes pretty well. You can still sort of see them but the redness has gone. It is very build able but even with one layer I would say the foundation is full coverage. It doesn’t feel cakey and I applied it with a damp beauty blender but I think any application would give good results.

Longevity

25 hours is a big statement to make for a foundation, assuming you would be carrying out daily activities. Firstly, I wouldn’t wear a foundation for anywhere near 25 hours, but I’m expecting it to last extremely well for the 8 or so hours I do wear it for.

I would say it does last well. I wear a primer every time I wear foundation but I’m pretty sure even without one you would get good wear out of it. I set with the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Translucent.

Shade Match

Oh Rimmel. Your foundations may be good but your shade range really sucks. Not only do you make it quite hard to find the palest shade (aka my shade. Aka 010 Light Porcelain) but you don’t cater to those with a darker complexion. As I’ve said before, you’ve got to fix this Rimmel.

Any ways being the palest shade of this foundation I ended up buying it on Amazon because Boots didn’t even carry this shade and Superdrug never restocked on it. 

  
As you can see from the swatch/puddle of foundation on my hand, it does look dark when not blended on the skin, but I think that’s because of it’s thick consistency. You do only need a small amount because otherwise it will be darker. 

Some people find this foundation to be too pink but as I have an odd mixture of a pink and yellow undertone, it suited perfectly fine. 

Honestly, my pictures do not do the shade justice, but I promise you this is the palest shade and it is actually pale.

Overall Thoughts

I’m actually really impressed with this foundation. I should mention that the scent of this perfume an be overwhelming (so super sensitive skin may react) but I think it lives up to what it claims to do.

I would definitely recommend it to those looking for a good, full coverage drugstore foundation.

Until next time,

Lauren

xo

Leave a Reply

